Pippin Finds Its Magic

Pippin

Usually when I decide to go to something, I’ve done my research and I know all about it.  That wasn’t the case with Pippin.  I honestly had never heard of the original Broadway musical, nor this current revival and only went to accompany a friend.  I was apprehensive because with so little knowledge I didn’t know what to expect from the production.  I’m glad to say, I’m pleasantly surprised.

Pippin opens with a circus group full of magicians and acrobats and led by the ring leader known as the Leading Player, played by Patina Miller.  It’s here that part of their act is to tell the story of Pippin.  Pippin is the son of King Charles who has recently graduated from university and returned home to find his purpose and fulfillment.  The musical follows him and his journey as he explores different paths to find life’s meaning.

What I liked about the play was the premise.  I can definitely relate to graduating from school and not knowing what to do with my life next.  I also enjoyed the main actors, specifically Patina Miller’s spunky and sassy Leading Player, who narrates and guides Pippin throughout his journeys.  The actress recently won a Tony for this performance so it was a pleasure seeing her in action.  Matthew James Thomas’ Pippin also stood out, not only as the show’s star, but because he captured the character’s longing and desperation for purpose beautifully.  Another plus to this play was the production value with the top notch stunts and acrobatics.

Where the show fell was during the second act.   The first act was fast paced and exhilarating, while the act two saw things slow down as Pippin settled into his “purpose”.  The music was also a low point of the production, with only three songs, “Magic To Do, “Morning Glow”, and “No Time At All” truly standing out.

Despite its flaws,  Pippin is a show that will have you leaving the theater entertained.  The journey to find one’s purpose is a universal theme and Pippin takes the audience on a ride filled with charm, wit, and magic.

One response to “Pippin Finds Its Magic

  1. Pingback: Life’s Playlist…. Corner of the Sky from the Musical Pippin @PippinMusical | Notes from a Southern Kitchen·

Leave a comment